Finally, someone solved the problem of knives in the dishwasher

Michael E Johnson
3 min readApr 21, 2021

We’ve become connoisseurs of odd things since lockdown began last march. We now have strong opinions on topics like toiletpaper, nose-wire masks, and hand sanitizer that doesn’t do more damage than it prevents. Even everyday tasks such as loading the dishwasher have come under scrutiny.

The dishwasher is primarily my task, as I tend to play sous chef for prepping dinner, I also tend to do much of the washing up. I have become particular about how to load the dishwasher to optimize the quality of how well those dishes get clean vs. the quantity of dishes. I think I’ve spent far too much time learning which spots are good for which kind of dishes, and how to best arrange the silverware to prevent spooning.

Knives are a problem. First, if you’re not aware, putting them in the dishwasher dulls the blades. The tiny grains of food and chemicals can damage the finish of the metal, and sandblast your once-sharp blades. Seriously, hand wash them. I know I should, and I do handwash the kitchen knives — but I’m lazy with these little pearing knives and steak knives. I’m a bad person, I can accept that.

The real battle with knives comes between the two types of people loading the basket: Point Down and Point Up. What’s it gonna be? Protect the person, or protect the machine?

Point down knives have damaged this basket, and risk stopping the sprayer

--

--

Michael E Johnson

Inventor building an iron-based battery for the one billion humans living without access to light once the sun goes down. www.bigattichouse.com